The Radical Notion

Encouraging women to leave their husbands, kill their children, practice witchcraft, destroy capitalism, and become lesbians

Newsflash: Obama wins! November 5, 2008

Filed under: Meta,Obama — theradicalnotion @ 12:50 am
Tags: , , , , ,

So, I’m sure that everyone reading this already knows that Obama won. Can I just get a quick ‘woot’? Thank you. I watched the CNN election results with bated breath; I realized at about 10:15 that Obama was going to win (right after he won Ohio), but none of my friends were around, so I couldn’t tell anybody! It was so suspenseful. And then, of course, we counted down the last seconds until 11 when the polls on the West Coast closed and CNN could officially project it all for Obama…after counting down, the ‘breaking news’ graphic flashed across the screen and then we just saw “Barack Obama Elected President”. Well, let me tell you. I have heard some screams in my day, but nothing approaching the screaming I heard in the academic building I was in. The room I was watching from was packed, but it was tiny compared to the main one (watching Comedy Central), not to mention all the people milling around in the halls, squished like happy sardines. Even now, at 12:40, I can hear people on the other side of campus, screaming (it probably didn’t help that the school provided us with a couple kegs. For once, I wished that I drank so that I could say my school gave me free alcohol).

I do feel bad for the people who were hoping for a McCain/Palin win – not enough to wish they had, of course, but I just remember how that feels. It sucks. I hope many conservatives’ fears will be allayed by Obama’s presidency…

Speaking of which, I hope mine are allayed as well. I have mentioned before that I have some serious reservations about Obama, and my mood was not improved when I heard that several of the disgusting ballot measures in different states had passed. I am very sad/worried, and promise to post and rant about them in great detail. Tomorrow.

But tonight, I’m still kind of in shock. I cried a little bit at 11:00, and I cried a little bit 5 minutes ago. It’s a good kind of crying, mostly, but thinking about the rights that have been taken away from some groups in certain states makes me really sad, and no doubt contributed to the tears. I’m still pretty high and happy though, so if you don’t mind I’m just going to bask in the awesomeness of what this could potentially mean for our country, and be back to the quotidian bitching tomorrow.

I’ll either sleep amazingly well tonight, or not be able to fall asleep for hours. It’s that kind of mood, and that kind of day, and that kind of smile is plastered across my face. I’m just – ooh. It’s kickass.

Sweet dreams, everyone, and remember – the best is yet to come.

 

One Response to “Newsflash: Obama wins!”

  1. Tina Tupelo Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! Thought you’d have some new stuff up! 😦 Hope you’re having a good time with your family and pets.


Leave a Reply

